Mystic, Connecticut

up early this morning, doing what I needed to do before leaving the apartment for Portland, Maine with a stop overnight at Maureen’ aka Mo and Jeff’s…after gathering all I needed and problem didn’t need…some in big suitcase, some in bags, some in boxes…running around trying to find my book…trued three times before I found it…got the various cords… ate cottage cheese, yogurt and blueberries, munching on a banana on the side watching TV but not paying attention…washing the bathroom mat along with the mat at the front door, I figured I’d have everything done by the time they came out of the dryer…and on the floors, my last official act before packing the car…by now it was a little before 1:00…can’t seem to leave earlier for anything…on the road with Maps taking me to Mystic by way of the New Jersey Turnpike and the George Washington Bridge, the scene of the Bridgegate crime…Chris Christie’s cronies went to jail, didn’t they?…then the Merritt Parkway was almost bumper to bumper and sometimes going 6 to 20 miles per hour for 50 miles…not fun when I should have been going 55…I stopped to pee, asked the kid how far I was to Mystic…he never heard of it…not only was Mystic famous in its own right, but one of Julia Roberts first movies, if not the first starring, Mystic Pizza, put it on the map, pun intended!…he still didn’t know it…he finally found it on his phone, I was 2 hours away…turned out I was 3 hours away because of my bad google maps mentality…I finally pulled over and had to make a u-turn and backtrack miles…but all turned out even though I was over an hour late for Mo’s dinner reservation…she and Jeff have been living here for 6 years, renovating a wonderful house, having move from DC where I knew them from…MO’s a great artist and teacher…I met them through Keith…we were together at Keith’s summer rental house in Rehoboth, Delaware so many years ago…we’re on Instagram together and we speak every so often…she invited me to stay on the way up to Peaks this time, and on the way back, to break up the trip…and have dinner at her son-in-law’s new restaurant, only open a week and a half,,,I’m thrilled to see them and their new house in Mystic…Candy and Ray and Nancy came here, stayed at a Bed and Breakfast in 2007 I think…I also think I already wrote about it…it was their first time in “New England”…it was a fun weekend or middle of the week…a fond memory…Mo’s house is beautiful, haven’t seen it all yet, but I’ll see it in the morning…I think I’m 4 or 5 hours away from Portland…time for bed…early to bed, early to rise…I hope I do better tomorrow…Mo couldn’t find the purple paper with the WiFi code, so I had to blog on my phone…I think I did okay!…

found a penny…

didn’t see the debate but Jeff said it was bad…he left the restaurant early to watch it,..makes me 😦 sad

Leave a comment